Home / Chisholm / Overview

Origins of the Name

The seat of Chisholm is named in honour of Caroline Chisholm, a tireless worker for the welfare and political rights of women and children in the 19th century famous for her work with new immigrants in New South Wales and the goldfields region of Victoria.

She lobbied to ensure these people were provided with adequate accommodation and personally organised the often destitute young women to journey to rural areas in order to secure employment.

You can find out more about Caroline Chisholm here.

The Local Area

Since the 2010 Redistribution by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) the seat of Chisholm covers roughly 65 square kilometres in Melbourne's eastern suburbs from Clayton and Oakleigh in the south and north to Box Hill North and east to west from Mount Waverley to Burwood and Chadstone.

The suburbs of Ashwood, Blackburn South, Box Hill, Box Hill North, Box Hill South, Burwood, Chadstone, Clayton (part), Forest Hill (part), Huntingdale, Mont Albert, Mont Albert North (part), Mount Waverley, Oakleigh (part), Oakleigh East and Surrey Hills (part) all fall within Chisholm.

If you're unsure whether or not you live in Chisholm, you can check your enrolment details by following this link.

Download the map of the Chisholm area here

Map of Chisholm

Listen Live in Parliament
Find Anna on Facebook
Do Not Call Register Butterfly Foundation for Eating Disorders Local Sporting Champions Grant Centrelink Department of Immigration Australian Labor Party